This Guide for Bootstrapping Your Business for 2023. |

Mar 14, 2023

There are many possible ways to conduct business. And no one way is right. If you're one of those business owners that can build a successful business then congratulations - however it is you manage it.

However, there's another method for building a business that has gained a lot of attention that is bootstrapping. Here at Mighty, we love bootstrapping, probably because we've watched entrepreneurs start out with just a handful of committed members grow into thriving, successful businesses doing between 5 and 6 figures each month.


A business that bootstrapping has a lot of advantages, it can also be an excellent way to increase profit. In this article, we're going to introduce you to the concept of bootstrapping. We'll talk about what it's about and not, and talk through what you'll need to be aware of to begin the process of bootstrapping your business.


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What is bootstrapping in business?


Bootstrapping is the practice of building a business that is profitable without requiring external financing. In today's startup environment, it's common for entrepreneurs to receive rounds of capital from venture capitalists and investors.


Bootstrappers do not take any outside money, usually focusing on keeping a low overhead and earning money quickly, in order to not need to seek this type of money.


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The benefits of bootstrapping your enterprise


 

  • Ownership. When you take the outside capital, or venture capital and you surrender the ownership. This can make sense in certain circumstances, in order to get a company off in the beginning, especially when your business requires funding. The more people there are at your table, the more people you have to answer to. If you have a viable company that is able to be bootstrapped, usually you can retain all control.    
  • Control. We sort of just said the idea, but bootstrapping gives you the ability to control. You can make decisions independent of external influence.    
  • Profitability. Bootstrapping is about creating a product that is profitable as quickly as possible. It is an excellent method to start a new business. If it fails, it fails fast. Certain founders may take large amounts of capital from investors. They can go for years before realizing a company isn't working.    


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Advantages of bootstrapping


 

  • There's less capital. It's obvious that if do not have investors from outside and you don't have the funds to get your business off the ground. Certain founders turn to borrowing, which does have it's place but you're on the hook for the debt.    
  • A little less knowledge. In the ideal scenario, borrowing the money of investors isn't only about surrendering the ability to control. The investor will get the wisdom of experience at the table, advice and connections. This is a huge benefit. It's why founders go on Dragon's Den (well... as well as the exposure to TV ).    
  • Tighter timelines. It is essential to get a business up to profitability as quickly as possible. Either that or you are doing another job in order to have a roof over your head, while building your company.    


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Examples of bootstrapping businesses


Here are some companies you experience every day that likely didn't know that were boot-strapped!


 

  • Apple: Created by Steves, Jobs and Wozniak, Apple started in Steve Jobs's garage in the year 1976, with the goal to provide personal computers for the masses.      
  • Meta Description: Facebook was bootstrapped until it was able to file for IPO 1 January 2012, aiming for $5 Billion.    
  • Atlassian: was famously started in Australia by two founders with the $10,000 credit card.    
  • KFC Harland Sanders started frying chicken at his roadside cafe using a secret receipt of 11 spices and herbs. He eventually started franchising (and dress like a historical colonel ).    
  • Plenty of Fish : A dating site that started as a free app created by Markus Frind and sold to Match for $575 million.      


Examples of Bootstrapping on Mighty


 

  • Yoga by Adriene  began as a YouTube Channel by Adriene Mishler. It grew to 10+ million subscribers and spun into two successful Yoga applications and a user base of 220,000 users.      
  • Wealth Builders Community : Created by Ashley Fox, the movement gives financial advice to majority of the people Wall Street won't talk to and made $100,000 within the initial two weeks.      
  • Code Red : A $10 million nutrition and weight loss business launched in the name of Cristy "Code Red" Nickel.      


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Guide to bootstrapping your company


1. Concentrate on the Ideal Client


The place bootstrapping is usually starting is through an Ideal Client or avatar (similar to an Ideal Member for those starting an online community). This is especially true in the creator economy.


It is usually boiled back to


 

  • Who is your Ideal client?        
  • What issue do they face?        
  • What can your product or service address the problem for them?        


It's a little dated now, but for creators, it's hard to match the concept Kevin Kelly wrote about in his autobiography, "1000 true fans. "


Instead of selling millions of products, you should focus on the thousand genuine supporters. Create a successful business around these fans. This is a good guideline to follow for a creator-based, B2C service.


But whether you're reaching 1,000 or millions it is essential to have a good concept of who they are before your product or service can add value to them.


2. Revenue from day one


One of the most important factors that will make bootstrapping successful is going to be fast revenue. That doesn't have to be true in all cases However, the longer it takes to achieve revenue, the longer the slog as an author.


Consider ways you can increase your revenue quickly. One thing that we've seen that works really well in various community and course businesses is the practice of pre-selling. It can help to generate the point of making money before even building something, and it can be the best way to validate the product.


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MVP


If you're watching football or baseball, MVP means something very distinct.


In the world of business, MVP stands for a minimum-viable product. It's not difficult to become a perfectionist, focusing on getting everything completely right prior to releasing something to the public. Entrepreneurs and founders can take long to finish their work.


Enter... a minimum viable product.


The phrase was invented by Eric Reis, who developed the lean startup methods. A minimum viable product is the most basic product is possible to launch. Instead of worrying about getting everything right, create a basic product to start generating revenue.


For bootstrapped companies, the minimum viable products are an essential element of generating revenue. If you're bootstrapping, then there's no chance of having everything perfectly. Get some income and adapt and learn while you go.


4. One great funnel


There are many options to market products. Companies with established brands may develop multi-tiered funnels that bring in clients through advertising and organic searches and social media channels and word of mouth and who knows what else.


In bootstrapping, it's usually recommended to choose one funnel. Focus on one thing that works.


As an example, say you realize that advertising your webinar through Facebook works great. This will bring you leads that are qualified.


Say you have to spend $200 on advertisements to gain 40 lead leads who are qualified. Let's say 2-4 percent of them will purchase - which is a fairly typical conversion rate.


It means that one or two people will purchase. Let's say that there are two. If you spend $200 to get 2 customers, the cost of acquisition per customer will be therefore $100.


 

  • Cost per lead (200/40 = $5 per lead)        
  • Cost per acquisition ($200/2 = $100 per customer)        


You must earn 100 dollars in revenues from these two customers for you to be able to break even.


Building a sales funnel is a tried and true method of building a successful company, and if you can get the numbers right and you are able to be extremely successful. Imagine that our funnel above resulted in people buying a subscription that is monthly for 50 dollars, and that the typical customer stays with the company for twelve months. The lifetime value for one customer is $600.


You've paid $200 on these two clients, which is worth $1200 to your company.


Do you think it's worth it?


If you're selling an online course with very low costs then this is a no-brainer. If you own a company which is focused on product, and has expenses such as personnel, transportation or inventory., you have to look at the numbers to determine the logic behind these numbers.


The great benefit of funnels that are well-designed is that it can be relatively steady. It takes time to develop your baseline numbers. At the end of the day, you'll be pretty certain that, if you invest $1000 into advertising, you will get $6,000 out of it.


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5. Low overhead


This leads us to the next secret of great bootstrapping: low overhead.


Imagine you're opening the restaurant. It would be ridiculously hard to get it up and running. It would require equipment and inventory, place, permits, and possibly employees. It could cost many thousands before you make a penny.


On the other hand suppose you're offering a cohort course. If you choose a great platform (like Mighty! ) it will cost you the minimum amount per month which would cover virtually everything you need to run your company. The benefits include a powerful platform with the option to brand it yourself as well as a point of sale.


The price of delivering that cohort course is going to be extremely low. And low overhead makes bootstrapping much easier.


6. Recurring revenue


It's not an absolute must however, it's something you should take into consideration. If you're bootstrapping a firm, having recurring income is an enormous increase.


Recurring revenue is basically when customers pay you each month. Your Netflix subscription or gym membership generates regular revenue for these businesses.


Let's imagine you bootstrap the business of consulting. Generally speaking, you might perform a project on behalf of a client and charge for the project. So far so good. But then, you have to go find another customer.


The great thing about recurring revenue businesses is that you are able to retain your customers. For example When we watch groups being created on Mighty Many members will remain members for a long time.


Certain businesses acquire customers, which then demand new customers every month. However, recurring revenue companies gain customers, keep them, then increase the number of customers in their daily pool. If you've got a low churn rate, it's a great way to bootstrap.


7. Multiple offers for each ideal member


One of the peculiarities of the business world is that often your greatest customers are ones who have already bought from your company. If people have bought somethingfrom you and are satisfied with it and are happy with it, they're likely to purchase from you in the future.


Many entrepreneurs forget this. They think "Oh I've already made a sale to that person. "


And they miss one of their most important revenue sources: existing customers.


Find ways to give your customers who are already there greater value. It's what we like to call"the value ladder. There's a good chance that you will have customers who be looking for more.


sales funnels - value ladder


For example, let's say that you provide the community membership upon mastery in the field. You have 100 happy members in your community. It's much easier to give the members something different than go find 100 more members.


What about a career mastermind or even a specific program? What about coaching one-on-one for a select few?


Adding offers for your existing customers is just smart.


8. Make an investment in scaling


Not least of all, the key to successfully bootstrapping a company is to invest some of the funds back towards scaling. You could invest it back into ads or improving your product. It could be hiring out certain talents to make your life easier.


It's not just about getting some cash coming in each month. It's about growing a business to profitability and a high-value without actually taking investor money.


When you expand, take a look at the ways you can increase your impact and revenue.


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Bootstrapping Checklist


 

  • Concentrate on the ideal client        
  • Get revenue ASAP        
  • Create a minimum-viable product (or make an offer)        
  • Create a fantastic funnel        
  • Keep your overhead low        
  • Try to generate recurring income (if it is appropriate)        
  • Create multiple offers for your clients        
  • Invest in the possibility of scaling        


Are you ready to begin?





If you're looking to begin bootstrapping your business, come to build it with Mighty! is a platform for cultural programming that connects community, courses, content, and commerce. And our flexible Spaces let users mix conversations, live events, live streaming, profile profiles for members Chat and messaging and much more.


The app allows you to sell products with 135 currencies and even monetize with token-gating. There's a wonderful app that works on every device or we'll partner with you on an app that is white-label using Mighty Pro.


Some among our Mighty hosts have established companies with six to seven figures bootstrapping their way to fantastic monthly profits. Businesses built upon Mighty look over all the boxes listed above.


If you're motivated, browse our case studies, and learn what some amazing business owners have created on Mighty. If you're eager to get started, try it free for 14 days with there's no need for credit cards.